Taken from: The WordPress MU Manual
There are two options for creating new blogs:
- Enable users to create their own using your signup page (e.g. http://writerspot.blogs.mu/wp-signup.php).
- Or alternatively create new blogs using site admin
Tips when creating blogs
- Use only lowercase letters and numbers in the blog address
- Don’t have any spaces in the blog address
- Users are sent an activation email when their blog is set up using the sign-up page
- Spam filters, especially strict ones for institutional email addresses, may well block username and login information from reaching users. In this case you should recommend users use free webmail accounts that won’t block the emails (such as gmail.com, hotmail.com or mail.yahoo.com)
- Until a blog is activated you won’t be able to locate it within Site Admin. Users have 48 hours to click on link in activation email to activate their blog.
- If your users do not have email addresses you can use Gmail method however creating lots of users using one gmail account isn’t recommended because Site Admin will need to do all password resets
- Use extreme caution when deleting blogs – once a blog has been deleted from the Site that blog URL can’t be reused.
Using Site Admin to Create New Blogs
1. Click on Site Admin > Blogs
2. Scroll to the bottom of the page add the blog name, blog title and email address then click Add Blog
- In this example the blog URL would be created as http://suewaters.blogs.mu/learning
- Blog URL’s can’t be changed once created
- Blogs titles can be changed at any time
- If a user hasn’t already been created a username will be created with the blog. In this example the username would be learning.
- Username can be changed to nickname by the user at any time Users > Your Profile
Editing User’s Blogs
1. Locate the blog by either:
a. Searching for the specific blog by clicking on Admin
b. Clicking on Blogs
Below is what your result display should look like:
You have a range of options once the required blog is located:
- Enable a theme that is disabled site wide on a specific blog.
- Manually over ride the site wide blog upload space quota for a specific blog. For example, change the site wide upload of 100 MB to 5 GB on a specific blog
- Change role and passwords of blog users
- Add new users to the blog
Takes you to the dashboard of that blog where you have complete access to all features of that blog.
Reverses the activation step users go through when they signup for a blog. Deactivated blogs can be reactivated without much fuss. There’s really not much use to deactivate on a typical WPMU site.
Marks a blog as being archived so it’s not accessible by users. Archived blogs can be unarchived. Some people use this option to test the waters before deleting old and unused blogs. If no one complains about the blog being archived it’s safe to delete, etc.
Used when you find a spam blog but aren’t completely sure it’s spam so you mark it as spam. You can mark it as “not spam” if it turns out to be legit. If you’re positive it’s spam it’s best to just delete the blog.
Deletes the blog entirely. Used with extreme caution because once a blog is deleted it can’t be recovered. The better option in most circumstances is to archive a blog rather than delete it.
Takes you to blog site.
Next up… working with users…